Cmotion's Character Binding Option Not Working

Forum for: Modelling, Texturing, Animation, Composting and the whole general usage of Cinema4D.

Moderators: visualtricks, cappellaiomatto, natas, Arkimed

Post Reply
  • Advertising
hengie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:13 pm

Cmotion's Character Binding Option Not Working

Post by hengie » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:50 pm

Hi there.
I am trying to create a walk cycle in c4d using Cmotion's Character option.

I am running c4d R20.028 educational edition on windows 10.

The steps I have done are:

Create a character rig.
Character > Character
https://prntscr.com/mu9llf

Select the template I wanted, so in this case it was a Biped
Choose what components I wanted, so arms, legs and a head.
https://prntscr.com/mu9llk
Once that was done I created a figure.
Create > Object > Figure

https://prntscr.com/mu9ll3

Once that was done I selected the character, and using the adjust tab I moved all the joints into place.

Then I went into the Binding tab.
I dragged and dropped the figure into the Binding tab.
(NOTE)
I also tried making the figure editable before dropping it into the binding tab but it did nothing when I clicked on Add Walk.
https://prntscr.com/mu9lld
Then lastly I went into the Animate tab and clicked on Add Walk.
https://prntscr.com/mu9o3k
If you want me to show anything else, then just let me know.

Thanks.

User avatar
masterzone
Site Admin
Posts: 8661
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:34 pm
Location: Verona

Re: Cmotion's Character Binding Option Not Working

Post by masterzone » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:47 am

I never used Motion system for animation but I think you are missing some steps.
When you create a character for AutoRig you must adjust all parts on your character but this one must me polygonal object, also after placed all joints on character parts, legs, foots, arms...you must make all joints skinned with the mesh of it. All joints must be linked with "bind" command on character menu > commands > bind. This is the skinning area of the rigging.
All joints must works on their area by using the weight tool.
After rigged the character you can proceed with C-Motion

:)

  • Advertising
Post Reply